What’s Your Fight Song?

images-4

We all have an inner king of the jungle inside of us. So why is it so hard to let our lion out?

Our upbringing, past, and our thoughts leave the lion shackled by the stories we tell ourselves.

What if we could give our inner lion room to grow? To explore? To slowly step through the looking glass and into our lives?

The good news is that there are ways! You can take your inner vision and inspired future and through intention and attention grab the paw of your inner lion and welcome it into the world. You just need to find your inner fight song.

images

Rachel Platten sings a popular song on the radio called Fight Song. She inspired this post along with Katie Perry’s song Roar.

Here’s a couple of verses of Platten’s song:

“Like a small boat on the ocean setting big waves into motion…like how a single word can make a heart open. I might only have one match but I can make an explosion.

All those things I didn’t say are wrecking balls inside my brain I will scream them loud tonight…can you hear my voice this time?

This is my fight song….Take back my life song…..Prove I’m all right song……….My power’s turned up, starting right now, I’ll be strong…I’ll play my fight song and I don’t really care if nobody else believes ‘cause I still got a lot of fight left in me.”

What I love about Platten and Perry’s songs is that it reminds us we are stronger than we seem, braver than we believe, and smarter than we think.

If we can change our stories, our inner thinking, and restrictive thoughts we have about our abilities, we can reach through the mirror and coax out our inner lion through the use of affirmations.

positive-thinking-collage3An affirmation is, simply, positive self-talk. It’s a statement about ourselves or our situation, phrased in the present tense as if the statement is already true.

Science supports the power of affirmations which are a form of auto-suggestion. When practiced deliberately and repeatedly, they reinforce chemical pathways in the brain, strengthening neural connections. David J. Hellerstein, M.D., a Professor of Clinical Psychiatry at Columbia University says,

“We have realized that ‘neuroplasticity,’ the ongoing remodeling of brain structure and function, occurs throughout life. It can be affected by life experiences, genes, biological agents, and by behavior, as well as by thought patterns.”

Neuroscience has proven that our thoughts can change the structure and function of our brains. We don’t need to stay stuck within the stories we heard and believe that stemmed from our youth.

images-10By practicing affirmations repetitively, we actually create neuroplasticity in the area of the brain that processes what we are thinking about. The key is repetition so you flood your brain with the positive thought about yourself.

Typically an affirmation is born from the opposite of a negative thought. If you believe that you are shy – you are correct! Instead tell yourself through affirming, that you are outgoing, bold, and social.

When practicing affirmations, choose one or two to focus on for several weeks. Say the affirmation out loud in a confident voice several times a day and before you go to bed. To add more power to the affirmation, write it down as you speak it. Remember be sure your affirmations are in the present tense, as though they are a current reality.

Here are some examples of affirmations:

  • When I breathe, I inhale confidence and exhale timidity.
  • I am self-reliant, creative, and persistent in whatever I do.
  • I feel joy and contentment in this moment right now.
  • By allowing myself to be happy, I inspire others to be happy as well.
  • Mistakes and setbacks are stepping-stones to my success because I learn from them.
  • Every day in every way, I am becoming more and more successful.
  • I am unique. I feel good about being alive and being me.
  • I fully accept myself and know that I am worthy of great things in life.
  • I fill my mind with positive and nourishing thoughts.
  • I am fully present in all of my relationships.
  • I accept and embrace all experiences, even unpleasant ones.
  • I approve of myself and love myself deeply and completely.
  • I observe my thoughts and actions without judging them.

“Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it! Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now.” ~ Goethe

If you catch yourself thinking or saying old negative beliefs or stories STOP! Transform that thought into an affirmation right then and there.

Ask your friends and family to help you stay focused on your affirmations by pointing out any negative self-descriptions when you say them – thus turning them into a positive affirmation immediately.images-2

7 thoughts on “What’s Your Fight Song?

  1. Good one Hun! I like the post, it reminds me of so many good movies that use a upbeat and positive soundtrack to indicate the character has transitioned to a positive action or mood, like Eye Of The Tiger in Rocky.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post and I love the fight song. The self-affirmations could become a really powerful tool. The only thing I do not agree with is trying to make a naturally introverted person ‘outgoing, bold, and social’. I do not believe these qualities are necessary for success and it is far better instead for an introvert to learn how to develop ways of using their quiet tendencies in a positive manner.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elizabeth, thanks for your comment and for disagreeing! I too am an introvert. I have learned that in some situations, I needed to be more outgoing and social. Bold I am not but I have learned to speak my mind in a way that works for me. These are only suggestions. Take them, tweak them, or throw them out….each reader gets to chose what works for them.

    Like

  4. I realllllly enjoyed reading this post!! I’m so glad I found your blog! Rachel Platten’s Fight Song is and probably always will be an important part of my journey. As soon as I heard it I felt like I had to make a music video of my interpretation. Since then, I’ve felt freer. Kind of like I let my inner lion out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.