90/10

images-67:40 AM, I’m ready for work but my son is still in his PJ’s. School starts at 8:00 and so does work. We need to leave NOW or he’ll be late for school and I’ll be late for work.

He kicks into high gear moving like a mad man…as he rushes by me he wipes a syrupy hand on my skirt. Sigh…. I head upstairs to put on another skirt.

7:50 AM…crap!

images-5We jump in the car and race to school. Mom, why are you driving so fast? Because we’re going to be late! I bark back. You took your sweet time getting ready and then smeared your sticky hands on my skirt!! Crap, is that red lights in my rear view mirror? Yup…I look down at my speedometer and I’m doing 40 MPH in a school zone.

8:10 AM…. I drop my son off and head to work feeling exhausted, frustrated and angry.

images-7Sometimes it feels like life is a whorl wind, one mishap follows another and bad days follow bad days. There is constant stress, a lack of joy, and worry and dread begins to consume us. Life is a bore and feels cruel.

When things aren’t working the way we want them and we feel surrounded by problems, it can be tempting to look outside ourselves by trying to change the things we feel are causing our issues. But the issues we face are not black and white. The solution to our problems could just be our attitude.

Years ago I read a poem by Charles Swindoll. I liked it so much that I incorporated it into my customer service training of new employees. Here’s a short snippet:

“We cannot change our past. We cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude. I’m convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% of how I react to it.” – Charles R. Swindoll

images-410% of our lives is made up of what happens to us.

The other 90% is determined by how we react to the 10%. The response to what life throws at us is in our control.

10% – Someone cuts us off in traffic. 90% – They must be in a bigger hurry then we are!

10% – The plane is delayed due to weather. 90% – Better to be safe than not – heck I can even finish that book while I wait!

Knowing what’s important and what’s not helps us to let things roll off us like water on glass.

Life-Quotes-47

