What is Your Why?

images

When I ask this, I’m asking what is your purpose? Why were your born? Why are you here on this earth? Why do you get out of bed every morning?

People have either shrug me off or they think that I’m drifting off into deep existentialist thinking with this question. Why do so many of us shy away from knowing what our why is?

I’ve had a couple of people tell me that they were worried about the process of reviewing their life’s purpose. What if they discovered there is no purpose to their life? Everyone has a purpose for being here and a reason to live their why! If you don’t know it yet you just need to take the time, move out of your comfort zone, ask yourself questions and discover it.

If we don’t understand our purpose, how can we experience true happiness, meaning, and contribution in our lives?

images-1Some people have been lucky to have parents, teachers, and mentors early on in their life to help them see, and even better yet, feel their life’s purpose. I would say I had a little bit of nudging from teachers and mentors throughout my life; yet it was through a relentless desire to know more about who I am, what I stand for, and what I like to do that helped me to find my purpose – my why.

“The two most important days in your life are the day you were born, and the day you find out why.” – Mark Twain

imagesDiscovering my why didn’t happen over night! It has taken a lifetime yet, the last several years I have focused intently on looking internally at who I truly am, to quiet my mind, peel back my protective layers, deeply listen and to question the status quo.

I started the journey with an assessment of my personal values and beliefs, my personality, and natural strengths. I re-read Stephen Covey’s 7-Habits of Highly Effective People, I took the StrengthsFinder and StandOut assessments, I evaluated the status of my emotional intelligence, I wrote a personal vision/mission statement (which I call my purpose statement), read dozens of books and returned to college to finish my Bachelors degree.

No it won’t take years to discover your why – that was just my journey, but it will require you to be introspective, self-aware, and to take all the time you need to dig deep to understand and clarify your why.

The result of all of my inner work was gaining an understanding of the benefits of personal mastery and a clarification of my life’s purpose – a solidification of my why.

“He who has a why to live for can bear almost any how.” – Nietzsche

images-2I’ve coached for decades yet I had not been able to do so full-time. I have helped many individuals get unstuck, find clarity in what they want out of their career and personal lives, and to help them remove obstacles by learning to trust their natural skills and abilities.

imagesAs you know, I enrolled in an advanced Coaching Certification program to provide the missing tools and knowledge to support my why. The work I’ve completed throughout the program (which is likened to an MBA program!) has been affirming that I have made the correct decision to leave my 30-year banking career to follow my passion of becoming a Certified Coach.

I started this blog as an outlet to deepen and solidify the learning from all of my introspective work. It also helps to scratch my creative itch. 😉 As I write this I realize that the blog has become a way to share my passion and to live my why.

I want to thank you for the support and feedback you’ve gifted me. I cherish your willingness to listen to my musings! Hopefully you’re finding a benefit from following my blog a well!!

I know, I know…we didn’t get the part of reviewing ways in which you can discover your why…..in keeping with my promise to keep these posts between 500 – 800 words, I needed to cut this post off at this point. Sooooo…..

imagesTune in next week at the same BAT-time, the same BAT-channel – to learn ways to uncover and clarify your why. (Another post where I got to get my nerd on!  Love it! 🙂

One thought on “What is Your Why?

Comments are closed.